MSMS 153rd House of Delegates installs Betty Chu, MD, as President; elects Mohammed Arsiwala, MD as President-elect

Last weekend during the 153rd annual meeting of the MSMS House of Delegates, Betty S. Chu, MD, MBA (pictured), an Oakland County obstetrician gynecologist, became the first Chinese-American to be installed as President of the Michigan State Medical Society. Doctor Chu pledged "to become more nimble, more dynamic, and more influential as an organization."

"Today, I am issuing a call to action. We need to focus on action. Results. Leadership. We must reinvent ourselves, seize our WHY, and bring MSMS into today's world," Doctor Chu said. "Our next 150 years is going to look very different than our first has -- and each and every one of us has an important role to play."

Doctor Chu succeeded Immediate Past President Cheryl Gibson Fountain, MD, a Wayne County obstetrician gynecologist, and Mohammed Arsiwala, MD, a Wayne County internal medicine and urgent care physician, was elected President-elect. Bobby Mukkamala, MD, a Genesee County otolaryngologist, was re-elected as MSMS Board of Directors Chair; and, Anita Avery, MD, a Kent County obstetrician gynecologist, was re-elected as MSMS Board of Directors Vice Chair. Theodore Jones, MD, FACOG, a Wayne County obstetrician gynecologist, was re-elected as Speaker of the House, and Phillip Wise, MD, a Kent County urologist, was re-elected as Vice Speaker of the House.

View updated slate of MSMS leaders >>
Learn more about Doctor Chu >>
Learn more about Doctor Mukkamala and Doctor Avery >>
Learn more about Doctor Arsiwala >>

Delegates took action on more than 80 resolutions and six Board Action Reports during the meeting, which also featured events such as AMA Town Hall, MSMS Board meeting, County Medical Society meetings, Medical Student Section meetings, Resident and Fellows Section meetings, International Medical Graduates meetings, and much more.

View final resolution action report >>


Posted in: Board of Directors News, Hot Topics